The Corvette wait list and the Google+ “back door”

Hmmm, I see... circles?

My company is full of the old-school kind of nerd, not really the “social media” kind of nerd.

It’s cool… there is room for everybody to be a nerd where they are particularly suited.

I run a custom software company in which one of our guys got an invite to Google+ and found a way to get everyone else in… as you might expect from resourceful custom software guys, right?

Anyway, the result is just about the whole company is now using Google+, and all but one of us “got in” after the invitation cutoff date.

Many of our folks still lurk on blogs, in fact if you are faint of heart beware that many are lurking behind this blog post as you read it…

Most don’t have a Twitter handle, so they are definitely not social media nerds… but last Friday the “buzz”seemed to be mostly about Google+.

It is fun and engaging, and hard to pull away from. Early conversations were the kind you expect when people are just figuring out what something means to them.

The Google+ wait list?

Some will drop off, and some will get pulled deeper in… the “limited access” strategy is a lot like the Corvette wait list… it makes you want it more.

For my teams to feel they have found a back door in makes it special for them, too… and I suspect it is a back door that was left propped open, with the kitchen light left on.

Now, I am not a conspiracy theory guy. I just think if the invitation cut-off was a form of wait listing strategy or not… it sure ended up producing the same outcome in terms of behaviors.

…And the kind of people who can find the back door to get in might feel a little better for winning the prize.

…And the kind of people who have cracked into the platform have already demonstrated they will play with the rules to see what happens next… so why not “invite” them in early?

…And along with the social marketers, aren’t those the kind of ravenous fans you want to build (like Facebook with its college-only initial strategy)?

So this is perhaps a little shameless, but I am going to have some fun with you. If you want in, you will have to post a meaningful comment below. Of course, most of my coworkers are already “in”, but I would love to hear your thoughts about this, too.

About ken
Creative insights, passion and technical adrenaline - strategist, agile coach and marketer, providing a good life for wife of 20 years & 2 awesome teenagers!

8 Responses to The Corvette wait list and the Google+ “back door”

  1. Maureen says:

    Thanks for the great post, I’m curious to see how well the invite process works for google this time ( it sort of backfired for Buzz) but I agree with your scenario.

    • ken says:

      Maureen, thank you for the comment. One difference I see from Buzz is all the social media experts talking about being addicted to it. Buzz, to me, seemed like just another Google app when it appeared like the huge array of apps was increasingly dis-integrated… like each was a little skunkworks project.

      I am also curious to see how much better integrated the Google ecosystem could be, and whether Google+ can help that along.

      –k

  2. Maureen says:

    Yes, Buzz was much more limited & if only a few on at first, it was like being the first 3 people to a party! Google + seems to cover all the ‘troublesome’ aspects of social media.

    • ken says:

      You know, you also triggered me to think about the inertia people can feel in moving to something new… will they care about moving photos, profiles, friends and other streams from FB to Google+?

      I do, and I imagine they will. I would like to know a few tools that I can use and not worry about all the others. The more I find integrations between WordPress, FaceBook, Twitter and LinkedIn, the happier I get… for Google+, those integrations need to come available as quickly as possible… and possibly some profile migration utilities would be nice, too.

  3. Maureen says:

    That’s a great point, what’s your take on the plus 1 button for the blogs as well as the info that there was an app to help switch your facebook data to google +? Did you get to use it prior to it being pulled? I’ll be happy to start using g+ when they allow others back in. Also I see that the business pages are in the works for it, guessing it’s similar to the fan pages on facebook.

    • ken says:

      Maureen, I think we could have a series of posts on each of those questions… but the social media experts probably have that nailed down by now.

      I have been guilty of not “liking” enough good content that others have written, so +1 holds a similar place for me. I have been happy to see others like my writing here and there, yet I have not reciprocated as many times as I found content I really liked… and I intend to pay more attention and get better at that.

      Unfortunately, I did not get my data out of FB before they started pulling it… though I have mostly used FB personally and not connected it to my blogs or tweets until recently. Those with thousands of friends, and especially businesses with huge follower lists will have the greatest struggle.

      I think FB’s move to keep people from getting at “their own” data is a more significant test of the future for Google+. It left a sour taste in my mouth against FB, among other things I think Google is addressing better in their implementation.

      Chris Brogan just posted today about responses he received regarding whether people should adopt the old reciprocity norm when “following” and the overwhelming response, in my assessment, was NO. Here is a link to the post if you have not seen it yet: http://short.looseneurons.com/crupg.

      The “back door” I referred to in this post really allows you to get anybody into Google+, as far as I can tell. So they don’t really have to open it up to get growth from the people who are most interested.

  4. Pingback: User adoption and the psychology of names « kenfaw.com

  5. Pingback: User adoption and the psychology of names » looseneurons.com

